Designing my own Rectifier/Regulator

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Designing my own Rectifier/Regulator

Sort of answering my own question posted earlier.
    Being an EE by profession I did some research and now I think I will undertake designing and building my own Rectifier/Regulator for my GS650GL. Why?....
    1. Seems like an interesting fun project.
    2. I do have the capability (30-yrs electronics design experience and an electronics lab / machineshop here at home).
    3. I would have control over the quality of components used.
    4. I would have control over the electrical ratings of components and thus robustness of the finished device.
    5. I would like some control over the charging rate to the battery.
    6. I would like protection from catastrophic failure.
    7. Some sort of built-in voltage monitor would be a nice extra.
    8. Having the above features would automatically make it a universal fit for bikes having 3-phase, permanent magnet alternator charging systems.
    9. Would be nice to be able to contribute something tangible on this site.

The rectifier, Power control and Heat dissipation stuff is a piece of cake and very straightforward. The control electronics is going to be a little different in terms of sensing, processing and we need to add a status display. The package will probably be a bit larger, mainly because of the robust power components and my preference for larger heatsinks for more efficient heat dissipation, but should pose no mounting problems on the bike.
    Some prelininary circuit mock-up and bench-testing of the sense/control circuit last night proved very encouraging. Will keep you posted on the progress.8-[
    Anything else you would suggest added, while I'm at it?
    Last edited by Guest; 05-29-2006, 10:53 AM.