Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

gs450 start up issues

Guys, I need your help, again...
    I´m trying to start my 450, but it will not ignite.
    All turns over fine, but no start.
    I pulled the plugs and there seem to be no spark on the right hand side.
    Does anyone have a clue what I should read on the multimeter?
    The number differ from right to left side.

I have never started the bike as I bought it as a project in october.
    The battery is new and fully charged.
    I so need to hear the bike start. Riding season is coming closer and I have seen bikes out the last couple of days.
    Pls help.

JF

Hi. As I'm getting used to saying on this site, I'm a newbie, but if you're not getting spark, you need to find out why. I would check first that the boot is getting good connection to the conductor inside the plug wire. Then check the coil, condensor and points. Check ohms on the coil (I think 3-5 ohms) and for continuity through the rest of the system. You might want to clean off the points with emery paper too (look for burn marks etc for signs of imperfect connections).

My 2c.

Atchbo.

Comment

The ohm measurements for the coils are in your owners manual. That'll tell you if the coil is bad. You can check for spark by pulling the plug, attaching it to the coil cable as if the plug was still in the engine, and push the start button while holding the sparky end of the plug a couple milmeters away from the engine block. (engine is ground)
      I went and bought a new coil before i found out it was the transistor timing box that controls the coils. Those arent cheap but i dont know of people opening up and repairing them by hand. The left side worked fine but the right wasnt getting any signal. Also my cables were a mess (new bike) and one of the wires had simply eroded away from time and weather. That helpped also, so give a looksee at the individual wires.

Comment

Originally posted by atchbo View Post