Exhaust: Independent v. 2 into 1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Exhaust: Independent v. 2 into 1

I'm relatively new to motorcycles and need to replace the rusted exhaust on my '81 gs450e...

What are your thoughts?

Do you prefer a stock-type independent exhaust or a 2 into 1 style?

What are the advantages/disadvantages of each?

stock isnt independent, they have a cross over under the trans,

Comment

I bought a 2-1 for my yamaha 400, probably better scavenging, and less weight too.

Comment

I like the style of my 2 to 1. It was on the bike when I got the bike and I think it's a MAC. I'm not real fond of the sound. It's bit tinney. I think there are some picts in my album.

Charlie G
        sigpic
        83 GS1100g
        2006 Triumph Sprint ST 1050

Ohhhh!........Torque sweet Temptress.........always whispering.... a murmuring Siren

Comment

Hey, Charlie. Can you get a picture of the left side of your GS450? I wanna see how it looks without the exhaust on the left side. And maybe a video.... Please?

Comment

From what I understand, a good 2 into 1 will encourage the midrange somewhat compared to a 2 into 2, but I would imagine there's more to it than that potentially with jetting, air flow, back pressure in the exhaust, etc.

I'm planning on either building a totally custom 2 into 1 for mine or getting someone to build it for me (all depends on my ability vs. price) to suit the style I'm looking for.

Apparently good ones are Kerker and Motad from what I've seen around the traps, although I'm sure there are others too.
            1982 GS450E - The Wee Beastie
            1984 GSX750S Katana 7/11 - Kit Kat - BOTM May 2020

sigpic

450 Refresh thread: https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...-GS450-Refresh

Katana 7/11 thread: http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...84-Katana-7-11

Comment

Originally posted by Flaming Chainsaws View Post