Can JBweld fix my tank?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can JBweld fix my tank?

If I knew how to braise, this would be easy.
    Since I don't, what is the best method to fill these holes?

Solder works well on small holes.
    79 GS1000S
    79 GS1000S (another one)
    80 GSX750
    80 GS550
    80 CB650 cafe racer
    75 PC50 - the one with OHV and pedals...
    75 TS100 - being ridden (suicidally) by my father

Comment

I thought about solder, but I'm not very good at that either.
      I'll give it a try. Any particular solder?
      Since it will be painted, acid core should be okay, right?

Comment

It worked on my tank. I accidentally drilled through the tank when I tried to remove the brackets that hold the emblem. I filled it with JB Weld and it has been fine a year later.

Comment

I wouldn't trust JB weld for very long. It's an epoxy and alcohols such as ethanol soften epoxies.
          -1980 GS1100 LT
          -1975 Honda cb750K
          -1972 Honda cl175
          - Currently presiding over a 1970 T500

Comment

Seal the tank with Caswell epoxy coating on the inside. De-rust first if necessary, use putty over the holes to keep from losing your re-rusting solution and to prevent the Caswell from leaking through. Caswell is a hard-shell epoxy tank lining.

Then sand, fill, and paint to your desire.

Comment

i brazed my tank with luck..but was worse hole then pictured...

after a whole brazing rod an the tank shooting across the shop i decided to buy a used one

Comment

Caswell is probably the best way to go. But if you just want to seal the holes, try this stuff.

PPG PRC-DeSoto PR-1422 B-2 aircraft fuel tank sealant is easy to apply, flexible, durable and retains its elastomeric properties.
                Old age and treachery will beat youth and skill every time
                Originally Posted by Schweisshund I mean, sure, guns were used in some of these mass shootings, but not all of them
                1983 GS 750