Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

'82 GS300L Restore & Timing Adjustment - Complete Noob

Hello All,

I recently purchased an '82 GS300L for a summer commuter back and forth to class, etc. It was in OK condition and ran when put in storage last year but had some electrical issues that I have sorted out thanks to the wiring diagrams provided by Bikecliff. Also have cleaned the carbs, changed the oil, changed the battery, currently cleaning the exterior of the engine and other minor repairs (spark plugs, headlights, etc).

So here is where I am at. I removed the cam tensioner so that I could remove the starter and clean the well that the starter sits in. Unfortunately I think I may have turned the crank with the cam tensioner removed since I was cleaning the rear wheel while waiting on parts. I spun the rear wheel while cleaning and I am not sure if it was in gear when I spun it. From what I understand, since the cam tensioner was not in place when I spun the wheel, if it was possibly in gear I could have turned the "crank" causing there to be a potential timing issue if the crank had in fact been turned. I also understand that if this timing adjustment is not correct I can do a lot of damage to the internal components of the engine (piston, valve, etc.)

My questions are the following:

1. How do I check the timing? From what I can tell in BikeCliff's manuals (pg. 265/317 of GS300LZ manual), I need to remove the cylinder head and align the intake and exhaust sprockets with a specific number of links between the two. Is this what I am looking to do? I am nervous because, again, I am a noob. I don't want to do any damage obviously and I don't want to have to replace the head gasket if I don't have to because it isn't exactly cheap.

2. If I do have to remove the cylinder head, what is some general advice?