Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Neglected 1983 GS550ES major oil leak. Where to start?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Neglected 1983 GS550ES major oil leak. Where to start?

Hey all, first time poster here.

My friend gave me his 1983 GS550ES, everything runs but just barely. The Mr. Burns of bikes...

Sat for 2 years with no stabilizer, Charged it up, added a quart of oil and rode it 30minites and it died.

Waited 3 hours and put it another quart of oil it ran again and now has a pretty serious oil dripping problem. Again rode it for 30 min.

After parked the bike was dripping oil quite badly, i let it sat for a week. Given the oil leak issue I put in another 2 quarts of 10w40 oil and started it up.
    (oil window totally blacked out, can't see if full or not)

Now oil just gushes out when I start the bike. What should I look into first?
    I have zero experience with bikes, but do have a service manual..

And tips would be great!

Ugh. You should have drained the oil and started fresh. There's a good chance that the oil is half fuel and is over-full. Make sure you're checking the oil on the center stand, not the side stand. For sure you're going to be WAY over-full if you're checking it on the side stand.

Drain what's in there and start over. See if it's thin and smells like gas. Use 15W-40 Rotella T diesel truck oil in the gallon bottle. Change the filter and drain that 1/2 liter too.

Comment

Got pictures?
      Where is the oil leaking from?
      Change out the oil immediately with fresh
      does the oil in the crankcase smell of fuel.

Dump out the old gas and use ffresh stuff

Comment

Yeah... we need a bit more info. Specifically what JeepRusty said and WHERE the oil is coming from.

Chances are... the gaskets are crap from being dry for so long.. or it's missing either the crush-washer on the drain bolt, or the rubber gasket on the filter cover.

Comment

Hi all thanks for your responses, I'll do my best to answer.