Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What type of battery in 1983 450?

Hello all,

This is my first post here so hopefully you can help me out.

I was just given a 1983 Suzuki 450 and it doesn't have a battery so I need to figure out what kind to get.

Let me first start by saying, this is my very first bike, I'm a 26 year old grad student and I've never even ridden a motorcycle before but my friend had this bike for 3 years and hadn't even started it in 2 years so he said if I get it running it's mine. I'm no means a professional mechanic but he said I should be ok just getting it running. I'd love any advice you all can give me. I'd love to eventually turn it into a bobber/Cafe Racer but this summer my plans are to get it up and running and get my motorcycle endorsement.

If once I get a new battery the bike doesn't start what are the likely causes? I will have already drained the gas, oil. Changed air filter and spark plugs. He said I may need to rebuild the carbs, what is a decent price for a rebuild kit?

Cheers All

Welcome to the GSR,

Like you, I had never ridden a motorcycle before acquiring the GS. Also like you, the bike was mine free on the conditions that I got it running and going. I had also only wrenched on cars, and the motorcycle world is surely different. Once the GS was nearly road ready, I jumped on and carefully acquainted myself. Then it was off to the Basic Rider Course.

On the maintenance of things: Wait until BassCliff comes along with the welcome wagon. All of the things you should need to do will be there. Your carburetors most likely will only need a thorough cleaning and o-rings which are quite inexpensive. A complete rebuild kit is usually unnecessary. Start with this for sure. The gas that has been sitting in the tank and carbs for 2 years (unless your friend is awesome and drained them) has clogged everything, especially if it contained ethanol.