Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Checking Valve Clearances: Near Disaster?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Checking Valve Clearances: Near Disaster?

Hi,
    Today I meant to check the valves and ended up having to take off the airbox, carbs, and cam chain tensioner. I've never done any of these things before on any bike.

I wanted to check the valves because I haven't since I've had the bike (four months) and it's had trouble starting. So I took off the fuel tank,disconnected spark plug wires and taped em up, took off the breather cover and the valve cover. So far so good.

Then when I checked valve clearances, they were all very tight. My smalled feeler gauge is .04mm and it didn't fit in any of them. So I went around and removed all of the shims and wrote down what they were (first mistake, turning engine over with shims out)

Then I took the smallest shim (2.55) and put it in the valve that used to have the biggest shim (2.70x). Still, my .04mm guage wouldn't fit in there. In the process of getting the shim seated, I turned the engine over twice (second mistake - none of the shims except one were in place).

Luckily I called someone to make sure I was measuring right (I was) because it seemed odd that even with the smallest shim the loosest valve wasn't loose enough. When I told him how I had been measuring them he said that turning the engine over without shims in the buckets can ruin the engine. I remember finding little shards of metal in the buckets and wondering why. So, the solution to this was to lift up the cams and put all the shims back, then resume trying smaller shims.