Pin Striping virgin!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pin Striping virgin!

My buddy and I are repainting out bikes in the Gulf Racing colors from the '76 Ford GT. There was blue pin stripes, but I have never done this before, and was looking for advice and tips.
    Thanks guys,
    Matt W.

do you have a pin striping brush already? i would say lots of practice and keep the brush loaded.

Comment

oh and lay down some masking tape as a guide and go along the edge of it.

Comment

They actually have pin striping with a sticky back that comes in a roll at the local auto paint store. There are some decent colors available. Have you ever used this stuff?
        thanks,
        Matt W.

Here is a pick of the paint sceme so far... Gulf GT racing colors from the late 70's.
        Last edited by Guest; 02-18-2013, 06:14 PM. Reason: update for the paint job

Comment

I'm pretty sure you'll need to shoot a handful of layers of clear coat over that sticky back type.

Comment

I have never done pinstriping before, but from what I understand..you use a spray bottle and get the tank misted. Then you can slide the sticky pinstripes around and position it. Then you squeegee them down and they stick in place. Then you let it dry for a day and then you can clear over them.

Larry, does this sound somwhat accurate?
            MY BIKES..1977 GS 750 B, 1978 GS 1000 C (X2)
            1978 GS 1000 E, 1979 GS 1000 S, 1973 Yamaha TX 750, 1977 Kawasaki KZ 650B1, 1975 Honda GL1000 Goldwing, 1983 CB 650SC Nighthawk, 1972 Honda CB 350K4, 74 Honda CB550

NEVER SNEAK UP ON A SLEEPING DOG..NOT EVEN YOUR OWN.

I would rather trust my bike to a "QUACK" that KNOWS how to fix it rather than a book worm that THINKS HE KNOWS how to fix it.

Comment

I thought you meant proper old school pin striping with a brush and paint as Mad Mark did...

Comment