79 550 Cafe-"ish" Build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

79 550 Cafe-"ish" Build

I picked up a winter project GS550, and have been lurking around here for a few months. I have been keeping a running build thread on another forum, but figured I probably should post it here, as well.

A little bit about me: I have been riding motorcycles for over 30 years. My first street bike was a 1973 CB500F that I always wished I had the money to build into a cafe racer....but as a college student, that didn't happen. Later I got a CBR600 and quickly found a new addiction to the track, which had me racing for about 12 years (CBR600, CBR600F2 and FZR400's). I currently own a 2003 R6, an XR400 that I made my own dual sport kit for, a V-Star....and this 1979 GS550 project.

A friend of mine bought the bike and started a Cafe Racer build on it, then ran out of time and room. Here's what it looked like when he got it a few months ago:

It was in fairly good shape, and actually ran (however not so well), which was surprising since it had been stored for quite a while. He started stripping and cleaning and picked up a few mod parts (Dyna ignition, clubman bars, larger carbs, exhaust, etc....). Then he ran out of time and room in his garageand I ended up with it for $600.

Here is how I brought it home:

Here's a list of parts that were in the pile:

-All of the stock parts
    -The bike actually ran, but the carbs are pretty messed up, so there is a set of 2mm larger KZ carbs that I plan to re-rack on the GS rack. (Yes I am capable of extensive carburetor work). Other parts that came in the pile:
    -Clubman bars
    -new Dyna electronic ignition system (with coils)
    -KFY Chinese knock-off shocks (cheap I know, but I will see how they work)
    -A dual cat-eye tail light assembly
    -New Progressive fork springs (already installed)
    -All Balls tapered steering stem bearings (I need to do some machining to finish the installation per the instructions)