Gs 750 for 100.00 bucks. (plus a motorcycle jack) into....a cafe racer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gs 750 for 100.00 bucks. (plus a motorcycle jack) into....a cafe racer

Alright so heres the story, i found a 1982 GS750T on kijiji, back on Dec 20th listed for 500 bucks, not running. I didn't have 500 bucks at the time but had been looking for a bike for some time to work on during the weekends. Turned out the guy was moving on Christmas and simply needed the bike gone. soo i told him i had not alot of money but if he needed gone, to call me before he moved and id come give him what i had, which was 100 bucks. Im a broke ass geology student in his final year and cash is null before everyone accuses me of theft. Anyway, he was taking only his car and had no need for the almost new stand and tossed it in.

I have been working on this bike now on the weekend since then, and have used this site almost daily to guide me along. Here is me giving back to the community with my story. I'd encourage criticism, but iv been on here long enough to know that nobody needs encouragement.

This is how she looked when i picked her up.

First obstacle was chopped at the triple trees electrical harness

After soldering the wires together and shrink wrapping them with the guide of a wiring diagram i found on here!!! it was on to the carbs, which i also found a guide on cliffs web site.

Attached Files

Next order of business was the rusty tank. It was not the worst, but it had rust. i first took it to the car was for a blast, then sat it in vinegar over night, neutralized it with baking soda, but still seen rust. hahaha sooo i filled it with rocks wrapped it with jackets and blankets and tumbled it in the dryer for a few hours.... SPOTLESS! a few rinses and shes looking nice!!!.

not the greatest picture, hard to get the phone in there. But there are the rocks. ill have to get a shot of it now (clean).