Owner by proxy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Owner by proxy

Clever titles are tough eh? Seriously though, my buddy bought a 1981 GS1000 a couple days ago. He has zero mechanical knowledge and almost zero motorcycle experience in the last 10 years. He is also broke and wants to use this bike as his primary mode of transportation for the next few months so his wife and son can use his truck without having to take him to work everyday. So, it has been left in my hands to iron out the problems and teach him how to ride again.

Damn I'm a good friend...I'm not a professional mechanic, but I've got functional knowledge of most aspects of vintage bikes. Minimal practical application experience though, so I'll be leaning on the great people of this forum and others for guidance.

Paid $600 for it. Clean title and new tires. Not running right though. Not firing on cylinder #2. Starts up right away with very minimal use of choke. Came with stock exhaust as well as a 4 to 1 pipe. Came with pods - I asked about the stock air box, but he said he bought the bike without it. Did give us the chrome covers for the air box though.

It rode well enough for me to not trailer it the 3 miles back to my place. Over the last couple days, I've only had a couple hours total to look into it. I'd like to summarize where I'm at, and where I intend to go ultimately.

My friend is 5'1" and heavy. So even with short shocks, he still can't touch the ground. So, this thing has been "ghetto hard tailed" with a simple set of tubes in place of the shocks. Yes we are aware that negatively affects the handling of the motorcycle and decreases the comfort of the ride. I'm going to cut a seat pan and turn some heavy short springs to make up some comfort while keeping it short enough for him to touch the ground. I'm aware that bobbing/chopping is sacrilege, but it is necessary in this case.