Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Convert a GS850GL to GS850G?

Hi everyone. Newbie here.

Considering buying a 1983 GS850GL. Excellent condition, all original and perfect (to me!) at great price, shaft drive, everything I'm looking for - except that it's an "L" model with the longer more swept back handlebars, smaller tear-drop tank and the shorter hi/lo seat. I much prefer the standard G look and figure it wouldn't be too difficult to find and swap out the handlebars and larger more squared gas tank. Will also have to find G side panels which go straight accross at the top under the seat while the L panels angle back/down

Problem: I want the flatter/longer seat with rear cowling. Assuming I can find an assembly in good condition can it be swapped out without fabrication? In other words, is the sub-frame for the seat assembly the same on the two models?

Anyone have insights on the differences between the two versions?

Thank you in advance.

Here's the L:

And here's the standard G:
    Last edited by Guest; 08-13-2015, 04:36 PM.

Comment

Sorry everyone, I just found the other thread on this. Does NOT look as simple as I'd originally thought. Going to leave this here in case anyone else stumbles along asking the same question:

Are you doing a restoration project of some kind on a GS? Let everyone see what you are doing by posting the details here.

Scott

Comment

Originally posted by Scott_WA View Post
        Hi everyone. Newbie here.