Valve clearances/ struggling badly.. :-(

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Valve clearances/ struggling badly.. :-(

Ok, I'm a reasonably good/competent home mechanic but i'm really struggling with holding down the buckets so I can remove and measure the shim. On the 4 outside valves( cylinders 1 & 4 ) no problem, easily done with the tool..
    The 4 inside valves ( yep, 3 & 2) are a different matter, the tool ( motion pro) doesn't seem to want to push down the buckets, it just spins them and then slips off, it's the same on all 4 valves, just doesn't seem to want to work??

Anyone any ideas? yep i have persevered with it for over an hour but still no joy, it keeps slipping off the bucket...

thanks guys.

Use a small screwdriver to keep the tool from popping off. Just kind of lever it from the side. I bet you got the tool used someplace? New ones are usually sharp and stay in place better, once they pop off a few times they get rounded on the sides and pop off easier.

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

I use the zip tie method.

Opinions differ about the relative risks and benefits of the two systems ( what's new ). I never had one of the proper tools but I imagine like any tool it's just a matter of getting into the swing of it and then you wonder what all the fuss was about.
      97 R1100R
      Previous
      80 GS850G, 79 Z400B, 85 R100RT, 80 Z650D, 76 CB200

Comment

I have the same problem with mine. Try rotating the crank until the lobe is depressing the shim you want to remove. Put the tool in place on the bucket, being careful that it is not also touching the shim. Hold the tool in place and rotate the crank again until the lobe is out of the way. It may take a few tries, nut it works.

1983 GS750ED-Horsetraded for the Ironhead
        1981 HD XLH

Drew's 850 L Restoration

Drew's 83 750E Project

Comment

I got the tool, but had same problem (even using a wedge to hold tool), so opted for ziptie route.