GS450 Low Compression after rebuild

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS450 Low Compression after rebuild

I've been rebuilding a GS450 for the past 2 months. I finished (or so I thought) rebuilding the top end of the engine, and now I have bad compression. I don't know what it was like before, I never saw the bike run. I swapped the valves from my old head into the new, and I'm wondering if that could be my problem. I replaced the cylinder gasket, head gasket, stator cover gasket, cam cover gasket, breather gasket, replaced valve seals and shims, and cleaned and painted the cylinders and head. I put it all back together and had a leaky carb, so I drilled and tapped for bigger screws on the bowls and that solved that problem, but the bike still wouldn't start. I just rented a compression tester and found that the left cylinder managed to put out 70PSI, while the right put out only 40. How can I easily go about troubleshooting this, and could timing be an issue? I had to move the crank forward and then back just the slightest bit to get the chain unbound when I reassembled, and now I'm wondering if that threw off my timing.

Are your valves adjusted to 0.03-0.08 spec? I had terrible compression on my 1000 caused by tight valves.

Did you lap the valves in when you installed them?

Comment

Yea, they're all within spec now. I didn't lap them. I hope I don't have to take them back out, I'd give anything to not have to deal with advance auto's valve compressor again. Swapping valves took me over 6 hours.

Comment

What method did you use to break in the rings?

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

Originally posted by tkent02 View Post
          What method did you use to break in the rings?
          the rings are the one part I didn't replace in the rebuild. Should I have?

Comment

You don't sound very confident about the cam timing so I'd start there.