Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

80 GS250T intro and questions! (noob for sure)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

80 GS250T intro and questions! (noob for sure)

My wife recently allowed me to purchase a brand new to me GS250T. So far, the bike is not running and half of it is in pieces in a plastic bin. I'm pretty new to all this but hopefully, with this forum's help, I'll be able to put this thing back together. Hopefully by the end of everything, this bike will resemble a bobber.

Unfortunately, the previous owner decided to remove the wiring harness and ruined some of the electrical components while doing it. They snipped wires they shouldn't have. So, looks like I need to start purchasing the electricals, then I can work on a new harness. What parts do I absolutely need to get this bike running and charging? So far I know I need new coils and igniter since the wires on those were cut off.

I'd also like to see if this motor turns. I thought I read somewhere that you can turn the camshaft with a wrench to get everything moving? Is that right? How exactly do I do that?

One last thing, I'm also uploading a pic of the motor. Coming out if it are 2 wires which have also been cut. Do these go to the stator? If so, can it be salvaged even though these wires were snipped?

Thanks for all your help. I'm sure i'll have more questions on the way. Hope I'm posting this in the right section! And hopefully I uploaded these pics the right way.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Guest; 02-29-2016, 03:00 AM.

Here is the wires coming out of the motor. I don't know why it uploaded backwards. Anyone know what I did wrong? It's right side up in my folder.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Guest; 02-29-2016, 02:26 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by Gs250guy View Post
      I don't know why it uploaded backwards. Anyone know what I did wrong?
      I am going to guess that you took those pictures with a "smart" phone?