Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Chokes/Bogs down at mid-upper speeds (newbie)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Chokes/Bogs down at mid-upper speeds (newbie)

Hello all!

Please excuse my lack of terminology and basic knowledge, I'm new to motorcycles.

Within the past two weeks I've had an issue where, when at higher rpms in 3rd 4th and 5th gear, the bike "bogs down", "chokes" or "sputters" severely lowering acceleration capabilities. I'm thinking it could be that I drain the fuel filter in first and second gear, get up third/fourth/fifth and the petcock can't supply the engine with enough gas? It's so bad I can be going anywhere from 25-70 mph and I cannot touch the throttle without the sputtering to return sometimes. If I accelerate hard after a second or two the bike will accelerate hard in turn, however the bike is seemingly better while in first and second gear.

Before this had happened I removed the left side crank case holding the stator (lower end?) and had to replace the gasket. Coincidence or not, the bike acquired an electrical issue at the same time where only the neutral light will light up with a key turn and the headlight/brake light/speedo/tach will only light up with wiggling the positive wire (to get a better connection?). I have sanded all ends of the positive wire, so i'm also clueless on this issue..

Today I noticed the fuel filter line had a half kink in it, so I replaced the fuel filter and line and it hasn't improved the issue..could my fuel filter be too small? The vacuum hose is connected as well as a thicker hose connecting the motor to the air box (another vacuum hose?). Additionally the petcock seems to have a hardly noticeable leak, potentially from the new fuel filter line.

THANK YOU FOR ANY HELP!
    Regards

What have you modified? Exhaust, carbs airbox?

What maintenance have you done? Valve adjust, carb rebuild, carb sync?
    Ed

To measure is to know.