Pods threads never get old, do they?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pods threads never get old, do they?

I'm frightfully new to all this. I have an 83 GS1100GL which hasn't ran in a decade and I've never worked on a bike before. So my knowledge base is learning as I go basically.

My point posting here is to ask if my logic is solid or deeply flawed. That's it basically. So, I am in the process of rebuilding the carbs and was cleaning the airbox while awaiting more $$$ to continue carb work. This got me thinking about pods. I've read about 20 threads about this debate many have had before me. My main concern is keeping cost down and getting this baby running. But who doesn't love better performance? So after reading up, I'm thinking no on the pods for the simple fact that I don't even know why the bike isn't running, much less how she'll run, once I get there. So why complicate things even more? Get her running and running well. If I continue to play with the idea of pods or any other mods, then pursue that.

However, saying as how the airbox is off and carbs are currently disassembled, I can't shake the temptation in the back of my head. So please let me know if I'm being a smart, cautious newbie by deciding to stay stock or if I'm being overcautious and should more seriously consider going to the dark side. Thanks in advance as always and thanks for the conversations that have already been had here. This forum is my #1 resource in learning to do things properly and I am deeply in many of your debt, without most of you even knowing it. And have a great day!!

Stay stock until you get a baseline for how the bike runs then worry about changing it. You'll have a lot of work once you switch so you're better off waiting until everything is running right first.

As far as the carbs, you'll need about $50 or so to buy the orings from Robert Barr and new bowl gaskets.
    Cowboy Up or Quit. - Run Free Lou and Rest in Peace

1981 GS550T - My First