Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

gs750 Points Plate. is it all there? with photos.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

gs750 Points Plate. is it all there? with photos.

Gday.1.jpg
    im not very good with electrics but im trying to learn. i just picked up this beauty of a 78 gs750e for 250aud$ off a guy whos had it sitting in his shed for 12 years. mechanically it seems ok, but electrics have been modified unsucessfully: someone has tried and failed to wire in a electronic ignition box and given up half way and the bike wont turn over. i thought i should revert back to original wiring and points and to do that i need to buy a new points plate i think. there are a couple on ebay.
    my question is, before i buy one, am i missing any part of my points system? I ask, because from the looks of the ones on ebay (see photo) they have little black plastic bumpers on them. i have 2 other gs's, an 850 and 1000, and on their central spinning shafts, there is one or two lobes, that rotate round and hit the plastic bumpers, thus opening the gaps in the points i assume.
    on my 750, there is no bumps on the shaft, and looking at the points plates on ebay, the bumpers need something to be bumped by to open the point as the shaft turns. im worried that if i buy one and stick it in, nothings going to happen, the shaft will just spin freely as it does now. on the removable disc, there is a gap cut out, which spins and i assume the electric system (was meant to) detect the gap and sends the signal.
    so, am i missing the plastic bumper hitting piece? or is there something im not grasping here? or am i missing another part of my original points system that may have been thrown out when the original owner tried to convert to electric?
    i have included photos of, the bike, and me removing all the parts of the points system and showing them all to the camera.