Sand in engine block; what should I do?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sand in engine block; what should I do?

I am in the process of reassembling the engine of a 1981 GS850. I've never worked on a motorcycle before, so I've been answering most of my questions through my service manual and this forum. However, I came across an issue that I haven't seen posted. I was about to work on cleaning up the mating surface on top of the block when I noticed there was some sand inside the block. I tried to show the sand in the picture below. There isn't a lot, but it is definitely still there. I scraped some of it out. It is definitely sand, not metal. The entire bike was covered in sand when I got it, but I didn't expect to see it inside the block. What should I do? Can I fill the block with water and rinse it out, or would that damage/corrode components? If not water, what should I do? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Untitled-1.jpg

The CORRECT fix is to split the cases, disassemble everything, & clean everything WELL before reassembly.
    Ray.
    Ray.

Comment

I would agree to that !
      My bikes 79 GS1000 1085 checked and approved by stator the GSR mascot and 77 GS750 with 850 top end, GS850g, and my eldest sons 78 GS550, youngest sons GS125. Project bike 79 GS1000N

Comment

Is it possible to fix this problem without splitting the case? I know that it's not ideal to continue with reassembly without opening everything up, but I'm on a very tight deadline for finishing the bike. Is cleaning the block with water then properly draining everything an option?

Comment

listen to the advice, you will not clean it out properly without splitting the cases. sand will destroy your engine in no time at all.
          1978 GS1085.

Just remember, an opinion without 3.14 is just an onion!

Comment

Even if you were able to get all the sand out without splitting the cases, I would never use water.

1983 GS750ED-Horsetraded for the Ironhead