Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

push start button....nothing

1981 GS750E
    I have been restomodding it for a couple months now. The bike started and ran good before i started my clean up and mods and started up fine several times during the process. Basically the bike is stock mechanically and electrically as far as i can tell. In my process of cleaning, paint touchup etc. i had a lot of the electrical connectors unplugged to remove various items for better access. Now after putting everything back together she wont start...push the start button nada, no click, no buzz, nothing.
    Not everything is connected yet such as rear brake light and turn signals. The battery is good. When I switch the kill switch to run position i get 10.6 volts at the switch (seems low?). Push the start button i get nothing. I am not very good with the electricals but i can be talked through just about anything. I have checked that the battery negative lug has continuity with the two grounding points i know of. When i turn the ignition key the headlight comes on, the horn works. but she no start.

I have disconnected and reconnected a lot of connectors and bullet connectors to be sure they are seated well but this at this point i am doing random things and hoping for it to magically start working. Am i forgetting something?

What do i check next?

Check at starter solenoid.. Make sure bike is in neutral! Jump across the two big terminals and see if stsrter turns. If yes, then you got problems with solenoid trigger wire,maybe clutch safety switch,back up to kill switch,etc
    1981 gs650L

"We are all born ignorant, but you have to work hard to stay stupid" Ben Franklin

Comment

Neutral, and clutch in?
      "I have come to believe that all life is precious." -- Eastman, TWD6.4

1999 Triumph Legend 900 TT

Comment

Originally posted by tom203 View Post