GS425L Project Bike

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS425L Project Bike

Hey everyone. New member and complete motorcycle noon here. In fact I don't even know how to ride a motorcycle... But as a recent unemployed grad, I really wanted a hobby. Turns out, bikes are amazing, who knew. I'm stuck right now though, and was hoping the elders might help me out.

About the bike:
    The bike looked like it was in good condition besides some cosmetic rusting, and only had 14k miles on it. The previous owner ran a motorcycle business out of his home, and he showed me that the bike would run, but couldn't idle for very long. He thought it was a simple carb issue, and otherwise it'd be back on the road in no time. The cluster lights turn on, although he had to jump the relay solenoid to get it to start.

After bringing her home, I pulled the carbs and did a full disassembly and cleaning using carb cleaner and a thin wire to poke out all the holes. Then squinted more carb cleaner through all the inlets to make sure everything was clear. The carbs themselves looked quite good, I just replaced the O rings and main jet as it was pitted. The airbox looked filter looked brand new, so I left that in, and I bought a new battery and plugs. I verified that the starter, plugs, and petcock worked, then put the carbs back in. The after trying to get the bike to run off both the starter and Kickstarter, the only thing I got was one pop and some white smoke out of one exhaust. I pulled the carbs again and the float bowl was full of gas, not really sure what's going on here. I checked that the slides were working correctly by blowing into passage leading to the diaphragm and got nice, smooth motion.