Gs odd ball carb question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gs odd ball carb question

just joined but have got an education off this site with this gs cheers for that ,

the help i need is a question of carbs I've gone though as much as i can looking for info on a unbiased option on carb choice,

I've got a 1982 gs 850g shaftie with 997cc top end fitted 1050cc pistons it got upgraded cams and I'm running bs34ss mikunis which I've ditched the air box (I know shoot me now) but its what i want for the look of the build i cut my teeth on tuning them to put the "compromise" in ride around spot of the power curve , i grew up tuning dirt bikes so I'm no expert but i build my own motors because i wanted to learn plus its cheaper. so the question is I've sourced a donor gsx750 1985 "slabby" i pinched the front end for better braking- handling and a little lower look but mainly got it for the VM29SS FLAT SLIDES ( not smooth bore and not 28mm) they got acc pumps . i know i can just get a set of 36--38 rs mikunis new from tom at mikuni oz. but i want to do things my way theres a story to how i got the 85 gsx and the rest of the bike went to bloke with my same way of thinking.
    I've heard of blokes machining them out to 33mm not gonna do that.
    so to the question--- if 28mm smooth bores were the ducks nuts in the day on the gs1000 79 will i be able to get the VM29 flat slides to out perform the vm28ss smooth bores???? I know they are gonna be better than the bs34ss cv's (don't shoot me for that i love the cvs but doesn't suit where I'm trying to get) i guess i need a unbiased opinion on if spend the time on the vm29ss 'Slabie" flat slides or just get the 38mm RS Rack,
    I've got the 29s cleaned up and i wanted to put them on as i wanted to stay time specific, but if I'm just putting a bandaid on a broken leg??? if so ill just go to the surgeon aka Tom at Mikuni oz and get the 38 rs . cheers lads
    Last edited by gmgs1050cafe; 02-07-2018, 01:46 AM.