"The" 1981 GS650G revival!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

"The" 1981 GS650G revival!

Greetings from the state of Texas! I just bought a gs650 from a buddy that had it pawned for $200. I paid to get it out and gave him some money now it's mine. This is my first real motorcycle, I've been riding 2 strokes for the last 6 months and feel confident enough to make this leap.

My plans for this thing consist of just making it good enough to be ridden until it dies of old age. So far I've changed all fluids, removed the tank(bit rusted), removed old filter(whatever was left of it)and tried to start it with makeshift tank and fresh gas.

Good battery plus a jump pack, it lights up fine all fuses are there except the headlight fuse, but the depress the start button and nothing! Proceed to jump the solenoid and it just cranks over, it does have good spark. I'm thinking the carbs need cleaned or theres a safety feature not allowing the solenoid to be ignited

Last edited by Guest; 07-25-2018, 07:08 PM.

Suzuki has a clutch safety switch. Pull back the clutch lever when you push the start button. If it has been sitting for awhile the carbs are probably clogged up. You can spray some carb cleaner into the air box to see if it will start up, but don't do it to long, just to see if all four cylinders fire. if you don't have carb spray, you can put some gas in a squirt bottle. The exhaust pipes will get warm quick.

Oh yeah, welcome to the forum.
    GSRick
    No God, no peace. Know God, know peace.

Eric Bang RIP 9/5/2018
    Have some bikes ready for us when we meet up.

Comment

Thanks gsrick, I was excited so I forgot about the safety features I read some bikes have. Just got done downloading the owner and service manual.(shout out to Bascliff).

I'll be removing the carbs and cleaning the jets tomorrow! Wish me luck and pray that my carb gaskets don't fall apart during disassembly

Comment