Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Vapor Blasting in Connecticut

Hey Gang,

My name is Max Collins. I own and operate Collins Hydroblast Technique, LLC, a wet blasting operation in northeastern Connecticut. I specialize in treating vintage Japanese motorcycle parts for restoration professionals, enthusiasts, and weekend warriors.

I am new to the GS Resources forum, but I am certainly not new to GS bikes. The whole reason I got into wet blasting was because I was restoring my 1981 GS850G and I couldn't find anybody in my immediate area to wet-blast the parts. So I bought my own blast cabinet and got to work.

Please check out my website at www.collinshydroblast.com for more details, pictures and contact information regarding my business.

Thanks for reading!

-Max

Thanks you, isleoman!

It’s a bummer to hear about your chemical-cleaning woes, I wish we had connected sooner!

Good call about explaining the advantages of wet media blasting as opposed to dry media blasting, here goes:

1) Wet media blasting does not mar or impregnate the surface with media (whereas glass bead WILL mar and impregnate the surface, leaving behind trace amounts of media even after thorough cleaning). This makes it not only a one-step cleaning/finishing process but it also means that wet media blasting is safe to use on ALL internal engine parts.

2) As stated above, once a piece is treated in the wet blast cabinet it does not need to be “finished.” The wet blasting process leaves the part in a handsome matte finish that is ready to bolt back on and enjoy.

3) As an added benefit, wet-blasting seals, shot-peens and stress relieves the surface of the metal on the part, making it stronger and more resistant to damage than before.