Gas Not Leaving Float Bowls

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gas Not Leaving Float Bowls

Hello all. New forum member here. I picked up my first GS a couple months ago. This is my first project bike. I'm sorry if this question has been asked before, I couldn't find it anywhere.

It is a '82 GS550L. It has good spark and I believe decent compression, as it will turn over and run when starting fluid or even gasoline are sprayed down the carb throats.

Won't turn over on its own power. Not even a cough. I've cleaned the carb dipped the CV carbs and cleaned everything backward and forward. When I pull the plugs after trying to run it, they are dry, but if I loosen the valves on the bottom of the float bowls, a decent amount of gas comes out. It seems the gas isn't making it out of the float bowls. The pilot jet and main jet of each carb are clean. The PO must have replaced the rubber as all are pliable and well fit. I doubt there is a vacuum leak.

Any and all advice/tips would be greatly appreciated.

I apologize for not mentioning, as far as I can tell, everything is stock on the bike. Stock airbox, stock exhaust, jets, etc.

Comment

Your engine is basiclly an air pump. pulls air in and pumps it out. You need to check the air filter box seal, rubber boots and seals to make sure they are seating properly and you don't have a huge air leak problem. Might want to check the valve adjustment as well. Make sure they are opening and closing right. Check your compression to make sure, I believe it has decent doesn't cut it...make sure. Check the plugs, are they sparking? At the last resort, recheck the carbs, make sure the main jets are clear. Process of elimination.
      sigpicMrBill Been a GSR member on and off since April 2002
      1980 GS 750E Bought new in Feb of 1980
      2015 CAN AM RTS