Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Draining carb bowls without spilling fuel everywhere.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Draining carb bowls without spilling fuel everywhere.

Apologies if this has been answered 10,000 times. I've been looking on here for a while + on the web in general. I am a huge noob, so please keep that in mind if I say something(s) stupid.

Background - fuel leaking from carbs when running. No leak with engine off. Figure it's probably a stuck float in the carb bowl based on the internet.

My mechanic is out of town for a week or so, hence I figured I'd fill the bowls with Seafoam and let them soak overnight, then drain tomorrow then go for a long ride. No big loss if I'm wrong.

Just did this but HOLY was it tough to not spill gas everywhere. I brew beer so had a lot of spare vinyl tubing of various ID, but getting something in the gap to slide under either of the drain screws for the inner two carbs was not easy. I figure I'm doing something stupid.

I see lots of tutorials and replies here that start "drain the carbs" but nowhere can I find a video / photos of carb draining on a carb like this. Other bikes seem to have a separate valve where the fuel runs out (on the bottom of the carb) and a screw on the side of the carb to open the valve, though I'm guessing this only works with 1 or 2 carbs. On my bike the screw is where the fuel comes out (like the drain plug on the oil pan).

How is it done?

Bike is a 1983 GS650GL, hence 4 carbs with two that are tough to get at. I've had it a couple of years and aside from this it runs like a dream. Fluids / filters changed + lubing done as per maintenance schedule in the shop manual.

I don't have a garage so I'm limited to what I can do in the street - hence the carbs are staying on the bike (at least until my mechanic gets back).

Cat food or tuna can under the bowls. Loosen drains and drip the Seafoam into the can. Have something else to empty the cat food can into.