Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gs250t Vacuum Leak Bike wont catch

Hi all,

I am quite new to being an at home mechanic, and I have ran into a problem with my gs 250t. A couple months ago, I noticed that the engine had a little difficulty starting up every now and then, I didn't think much of it, but looking back I also saw that the choke was very sensitive on the bike, and that the bike was ticking over above revs etc...

As I said I didn't think much of it, and I thought, when I have some free time I can clean the carbs etc...

Unfortunately over the course of 3 days in September, the bike went from push starting to not starting whatsoever. I didn't know at the time what a vacuum leak was, and I thought it must be a blocked jet/fuel line, bad fuel, or something along those lines. I spent a lot of time deliberating, I was getting good spark, the spark plugs were in good condition, but to be safe I replaced them. There was clean fuel, however none of it was entering the pistons, and the engine would not fire whatsoever, no catching at all... not even with starter fluid sprayed directly into the carbs. I thought it was an air fuel ratio issue I changed the air filter and tried again, still no luck.

After some digging I learnt about Vacuum Leaks, and looked at getting the carbs rebuilt, which as it turns out, the turnaround time for this is quite long, a couple of months, and costly (I am a student, and I need the bike to go to work.)