Thread: Wrenching Friends in Central Texas

Default Wrenching Friends in Central Texas

This isn't a ride, but it's a gathering idea? If I'm off-base with posting it here let me know.

I'm relatively new to bikes and didn't learn about anything mechanical growing up, so everything I know I learned by keeping cheap old cars on the road, and now, for the last couple of years, my GS550. I take it to my mechanic for things that are beyond me, and hang out and watch and get what I can from it, and I've started taking classes at my local technical school to get more up to speed, but I don't have a good space to work or any friends with an interest in working on things.

Are there any other folks in the Austin area who'd be interested in working on things together? I guess the genie wish version of this for me would be someone with a little garage space and some tools and some experience who I could pay for a little bay space and hang out with and learn from. I looked to see if there are any DIY garages around here and there's a website for one, but I emailed them and they don't exist. Anyway, I'd also be happy to meet someone else who's working in a driveway and figuring it out and maybe we could meet up once in a while and just do that.

Thanks.

Baatfam is offline Forum LongTimer Past Site Supporter
    Super Site Supporter

Jim, did you see this? https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...ing-Springs-TX

Forum member Groove_Daddy (Robin) is current living in Dripping Springs, TX, (even though his location is listed as IL).

Robin likes riding, and tinkering. Shoot him a PM. He doesn't have a GS, but he still knows a few things about older bikes.
    Bob T.

"That which you manifest is before you." -- Enzo
    "I always prefer to believe the best of everybody, it saves so much trouble." -- Rudyard Kipling
    "...for our existence to hold any value, it must end. To live meaningful lives, we must die and not return." -- Number Six