'82 GS1100GK Oil leaking

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

'82 GS1100GK Oil leaking

Hey! Noob here. I just got a GS1100GK this past week, I'm a new rider, and enjoying it. I picked it up from a motorcycle mechanic in Atlanta, super great dude. Told me everything he had done to the bike. He told me there'd be a slight oil leak on the front right side of the engine. Which there is. I rode yesterday and had a good bit of oil on my right leg. So i checked the levels and filled in as required. Tonight I rode to and from work, and my right leg is very noticeably wet with oil. Enough to make me not ride it until I can fix it. No shops that will work on it in my area are open until next year.

The guy I got it from said it was probably the O-Ring for the Tach cable, and that I'd probably need to get it fixed to get the oil to stop leaking. He gave me both of the service manuals, and told me everything I needed was in there.

I can't seem to find how to locate this, or what part I might need when I do. Has anyone else experienced this? Any advise or help? This is my first bike, and I have very little mechanical experience. But I'm really enjoying riding it, and would love to get it back on the road.

Welcome to THeGSR, from a fellow GK owner in Michigan.

Do introduce yourself some more (maybe in Owners section). And post some pics of the bike.

Originally posted by Ondina View Post
    ..........................I'm a new rider, and enjoying it. ....................
    And welcome to riding.
    GK kinda big bike for a first bike, but Okay.
    I will recommend finding a MSF class. Around here the registration fill up during the winter for all the classes in spring and summer.

........................be a slight oil leak on the front right side of the engine............... ............
    Maybe clean off the engine, so will be easier to see where it is coming from. May not be easy to locate because blows arounfd in the wind and such.