Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

using oversized gs400 in gs450

Hello all,

Currently I am busy restoring a 1989 GS450e. I decided to inspect the whole top-end as it made a rattling sound and had low compression (turned out, the auto tensioner was also jammed). After measuring the cylinders and pistons I was adviced to rebore the cylinders with new oversized pistons of atleast .025mm. I was looking at https://www.cruzinimage.net/ and saw they used to sell oversized 450 pistons but these seem to be out of stock. I did find oversized 400 pistons on the same website which have an diameter of 69mm. As the 450 has a standard piston size of 66.96 mm I thought I might settle for these. But, because I have no experience with this, maybe someone can tell me if this makes sense. I am not looking for max increase in power, I just want to rebore my cylinders and have solid pistons that fit. Thanks in advance.

Gr,

Frank

My records don't go as far as the 1989 model year, but the earlier 450s had a bore of 71.0mm.

sigpic
    mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
    hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
    #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
    #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
    Family Portrait
    Siblings and Spouses
    Mom's first ride
    Want a copy of my valve adjust spreadsheet for your 2-valve per cylinder engine? Send me an e-mail request (not a PM)
    (Click on my username in the upper-left corner for e-mail info.)

Comment

You are correct. After your post I started to look more closely to the cylinder and I discovered a stamp stating 399cc! Someone has changed the cylinder at some point as the motorcycle is officially registrated as a gs450! Luckily I bought it at a bargain price. I guess i can continue with the idea of buying the oversized gs400 pistons then...

Comment