Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie Tire/Suspension Questions

Hey guys,

I'm new to the GS world, or any motorcycle for that matter. I just purchased a 1983 GS850G as my first bike and my plans for the bike are to customize it slowly in to a brat style bike, hopefully over the winter. I've done most of the maintenance needed on the bike and want to start modding it now.

Now, it came with Bridgestone Spitfire tires. They seem to be in pretty good condition but have a 2007 and 2008 production dates on them. In the car world a tire older than 6 years is considered old so I assume it works the same way in the motorcycle world and I should probably change them soon.

Initially I was looking at some vintage tires like the Shinko 270 but after reading up some threads here I learnt they're tube style tires and to avoid them. Are there any other vintage style tires that look and perform good? If not I may look in to the modern tires. I'm planning to do some city riding to work and back and then some weekend cruises as well.

Suspension is another thing I'm wondering about. I briefly read somewhere about modifying the forks somehow by 20-30mm but I'm not sure how that's done. In the rear I currently have the original shocks as well, they have a dampening dial with 1-4 setting as well. I was initially going to plastidip the chrome black on it but am now considering replacing them as well. Any knowledge would be great on the do's and dont's for the suspension.

Thank you in advance and glad to have found this place!

Nabeel

The first question you need to answer is: Are you building it to LOOK at it or to RIDE it?

Especially in the area of tires and suspension, it is FAR better to install parts that WORK, not just stuff that looks "right" for whatever "look" you are trying to achieve.