Show me your de-Led GLs!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Show me your de-Led GLs!

I could use some inspiration for my 1982 GS1100GL. It's a great bike, but the L appearance is starting to make me nauseous.

Here are my options as I see them:

1) Replace bars, reshape seat to more of a standard style;

2) Replace all GL components with G components (tank, seat, forks, covers, bars, and whatever else goes with them);

3) Find non-running G (850 or 1100) and swap engine;

4) Fabricate my way out of this. I am a welder and fabricator, so I could build an aluminum fuel tank and side covers to suit, and probably make an integrated rear fender/cowl/tail lamp setup.

What have you all done to de-L your L?
    Last edited by Longitudinal; 08-27-2020, 02:23 PM.
    1982 GS1100GL: hand built stainless 4-1 exhaust, pods, jetting.

Option 4 also would allow me to find a different sender that actually works so I have a functioning fuel gauge.

Comment

Way too much to do to de-L the "L". Get rid of it & find a reasonable "G" or "E" model. You'll come out way ahead with a way nicer ride. If you are wanting a "Boober" (sorry, bobber), a "Cafe", or custom, that may be a different discussion.
      1983 GS1100E, 1983 CB1100F, 1991 GSX1100G, 1996 Kaw. ZL600 Eliminator, 1999 Bandit 1200S, 2005 Bandit 1200S, 2000 Kaw. ZRX 1100

Comment

Originally posted by rphillips View Post
        Way too much to do to de-L the "L". Get rid of it & find a reasonable "G" or "E" model. You'll come out way ahead with a way nicer ride. If you are wanting a "Boober" (sorry, bobber), a "Cafe", or custom, that may be a different discussion.
        The reason I don't present that as an option is that I got sucked deep into repairing this bike and making it roadworthy. Selling and starting over isn't an option. The closest I can get to that is option 3.