Stumped- GS550L Consistently rich with stock jetting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stumped- GS550L Consistently rich with stock jetting

Hello to the GS forum. This is my first post. I'm seeking expert guidance to fault source and correct what appears to be a chronic overfuelling problem with my 1982 GS550L (BS32SS carburetors). I have been riding and working on motorcycles for 45 years but have never encountered such a frustrating problem and have reached my limit.

Background - Acquired as a non-runner with 8000 miles in excellent condition a few years ago. Bike was receved with one plug cap removed from its lead and cracked. No running history was available as the original owner had passed away. I chased electrical gremlins for three years which turned out to be internally failing coils. I did manage briefly to get the bike running well with the original coils and had it up to 100mph one day before the coils overheated and failed again, so I know the bike will run strong. After installing dyna coils this year (huge improvement in the size of spark BTW), new leads, new caps and spark plugs, I ran the bike again and had fuel spitting into the air box. All four plugs become severely carbon fouled after less than 5 or 6 miles of riding.

Carburetor work performed - I dismantled the carburetor bodies (still ganged together), had them dipped, flushed every orifice out with carb cleaner and compressed air, then proceeded to rebuild them.
    At a tremendous cost, all new OEM Suzuki parts were used, including:
    Float needle and seat assemblies,
    Main and Pilot jets,
    Fuel mixture screws and O-rings,
    Vacuum diaphragms and O-rings,
    Float Bowl gaskets,
    Pilot jet plugs,
    Vacuum piston return springs.