New Owner - troubleshooting '82 GS650 that won't start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Owner - troubleshooting '82 GS650 that won't start

Hey Everybody - thanks in advance for any advice and help. I'm completely new to bikes and engines in general, so I'm learning as I go.

I bought my bike a few months ago, it started right up and I rode it for a few days immediately after purchasing it. Unfortunately I laid it down within those first first days, but with minimal damage. During my rides, I stopped at the store and when I came back out it wouldn't start. I was able to push start it and rode home, but when I tried to start it again a few days later, I got nothing, even after trying to push start again.

I checked the old lead-acid battery and it was totally dead, so I replaced it with a new one which is still putting out about 12.1 volts. The bike cranks with the new battery, but it won't start. I took apart the carbs and to my untrained eye, they didn't seem too gunked up and the jets seemed alright. I checked the spark plugs and they had a solid spark. I'm looking for some direction now as to how I should move forward troubleshooting this issue. What I'm thinking is this, please tell me if there is more to consider and how to check it:

1) Since I get good spark, that means that the signal generator, coils, spark wires, and plugs are good.
    2) The carbs didn't seem gunked up, if anything I was surprised by how clean they were so it doesn't seem like they are the issue
    3) The filter in the air box definitely isn't the one for this bike, as it doesn't fit in the box very well when I take the cover off. Could this cause an issue?
    4) I bought a timing light to see if the spark is firing at the right time.

I'm sure that I'm missing something to troubleshoot. What else can I do?

First of all, welcome to the nuthouse.

Let's address your questions (assumptions) first.