Barn find 1980 GS450L!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Barn find 1980 GS450L!

Hey all! Just got a GS450L from a neighbor. It has a backstory, hopefully it’s not too bad. I was told he was driving home one day and it dumped oil all over the road. He was 1/2 mile from home when it happened. He drove it home and parked it in the barn. This was in 2003 and it hasn’t been touched since (his wife doesn’t like motorcycles). Last weekend we drug it out of the barn to see the sunlight for the first time in 17 years. Cosmetically it’s in nice shape, I just hope that short ride wasn’t too hard on it mechanically. Anyways, I’m planning on dumping some oil in it to see if there is somewhere obvious where it’s leaking but are there any known issues that would cause this? I’m not new to motorcycles in general but I’m new to the GS series. Let the restoration begin!
    AD0FFB16-F43F-4891-8927-10BD86035120.jpg

First I would check that the sump plug has not come lose and fell out, not an expert on the 450 but I think it is a plain bearing engine if I am correct I fear there will be a fair amount of damage after a 1/2 mile ride with no oil.
    i hope you are lucky let us know how you go with it.
    The big guy up there rides a Suzuki (this I know)
    1981 gs850gx

1999 RF900
    past bikes. RF900
    TL1000s
    Hayabusa
    gsx 750f x2
    197cc Francis Barnett
    various British nails

Comment

such a deal! Lost all the oil? Before even refilling, however high the oil has besmirched the engine should be an indication of where to look... from the drain bolt in the engine bottom to the valve cover at the top.

Unlikeliest but nasty is a cranckase cracked by a curb or a rock.
      Check the inside of the tank too. They can be nice outside but crumbled rust inside. Pinholes may indicate.

Comment