Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Will Berryman's Carb Dip harm finish or nylon/plastic parts if soaked over-night?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Will Berryman's Carb Dip harm finish or nylon/plastic parts if soaked over-night?

I've never used it before but I want to use it for the job I have.
    The instructions say to soak 15-30 minutes, or longer if needed. It says in bold print to not soak coated or sensitive aluminum parts over 4 hours. It also says it won't harm most plastics.
    I have the VM carbs. The VM carbs also have what I believe is a nylon insert that is used to align the throttle valve/slide. But maybe it's a plastic? If you read reviews, most users say the longer you let the parts soak, the better it cleans.
    Has anyone had any problems when soaking over-night? Thanks for any experience/help.
    And on the seventh day,after resting from all that he had done,God went for a ride on his GS!
    Upon seeing that it was good, he went out again on his ZX14! But just a little bit faster!

Berryman's won't hurt that slide alignment nib. If you leave them in too long they will turn the carb bodies dark though. And it will eat off zinc plating too.
    Ed

To measure is to know.

Mikuni O-ring Kits For Sale...https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...ts#post1703182

Top Newbie Mistakes thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=171846

Carb rebuild tutorial...https://gsarchive.bwringer.com/mtsac...d_Tutorial.pdf

KZ750E Rebuild Thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...0-Resurrection

Comment

Agreed. It is my opinion that when the instructions were written, the chemicals in the can could, indeed, do the job in that "15-30 minute" time frame. However, since the safety weenies have taken over, the time needed is more like 15-30 HOURS.