New project 1982 Suzuki Gs450GA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New project 1982 Suzuki Gs450GA

Hello everyone, my name is Jared and this is my first ever motorcycle, a 1982 Suzuki gs450ga suzukimatic,
    I recently purchased this bike and have absolutely no experience at all on bikes, I have some experience with working on cars though.

My goals are to get it running again, I bought a new battery waiting for it in the mail.
    I have to clean out the carbs, looking for a rebuild kit online if anyone has any idea where I can find one I would appreciate it!
    Any tips and advice would be greatly appreciated!
    I look forward to this project and meeting new people along the way!

Thanks a lot!
    -Jared
    Attached Files
    1982 Suzuki GS450A: In Process

Welcome. An automatic, neat. Haven’t seen too many of those on here.

Some very useful links for you in my signature. Start with the top 10. And heed the warning therein to stay away from carb rebuild “kits”.
    Last edited by Rich82GS750TZ; 03-13-2021, 03:20 PM.
    Rich
    1982 GS 750TZ
    2015 Triumph Tiger 1200

BikeCliff's / Charging System Sorted / Posting Pics
    Destroy-Rebuild 750T/ Destroy-Rebuild part deux

Comment

Welcome to the site, Jared.
      Good plan of attack. Maintenance first, cosmetics second.
      2@ \'78 GS1000

Comment

The 450 is a pretty basic and straight forward bike to work on, if you already have some wrenching experience you shouldn't have too much trouble getting it going. Rich mentioned the links in his signature and they're a great source of information. Use them! Those carbs really only need a set of o-rings and a good cleaning to get them back to good-as-new condition, check out the carb rebuild tutorial (supplied in that first link) for a rundown on what to do and where to get the o-rings.
        1980 Yamaha XS1100G (Current bike)
        1982 GS450txz (former bike)
        LONG list of previous bikes not listed here.