Trying to change look on 1982 Suzuki Gs450ga

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trying to change look on 1982 Suzuki Gs450ga

Hello everyone, I am new to the whole motorcycle projects, and I was wondering if I could turn my gs450ga style into the basket case Suzuki 450 style. Is it an easy task? Below is an attached image of what I would like the bike to look like. Would I have to change the frame?
    Any information is greatly appreciated! Thank you!
    Attached Files
    1982 Suzuki GS450A: In Process

Can You Weld? Can you drill and tap holes? Do you have the parts?
    I have two styles T and E in a very similar Suzuki (GSX400). The T is very similar to your GA..though exactly, I don't know but I bet it is very near.

These are the preliminary Must Know notes. I haven't done a "conversion" (wouldn't bother) so I can't guarantee that's all there is to do but:

That's an "E" you picture. Your frame is basically the same but they welded some different tangs on each...me having the two styles, I'll guess your coil mount is different and won't fit the narrower tunnel of the E tank; the rubber ended stems that hold your tank stick out too far for the "E" tank; the E tank needs ONE bolt at the rear; the side covers of the "E" sit on welded "L" tabs at the top while your GA covers have all "tongues-into-rubber grommets" holding the sidecovers?... The frame of the E has provision to bolt on a steel framework to mount the E tail piece.

...Pretty much the same otherwise, though your gauges won't be "correct". The E has a kind of housing and slightly smaller dials in it but that doesn't matter...The shocks of your GA...11.5"? 12"? dunno but 13" on the E. Not that that really matters either. They fit across both models.
    Last edited by Gorminrider; 03-19-2021, 11:02 AM.

Comment