Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1983 GS850GL - Blowing Headlights, idles at 18 volts

Hi GsResources,

I am new to electrical systems and am trying to wrap my head around the common electrical issues I've read on this site. I have mostly seen charging issues where the battery dies, which points to the stator phases going out, but not quite sure about over charging.

I've blown 2 headlights now and finally measured the voltage on the battery as it is running. 18 volts idling at ~1000 rpm, 19.5-19.9 volts slightly revving, maybe ~2500-3000 rpm.

Is this an easy fix or do you knowledgeable folks need more information?

The regulating part of your regulator/rectifier system is not working to keep the voltage controlled to about 14.4 Volts.
    Symptoms include blowing bulbs and if not fixed for a while, boiling of battery. Check what the electrolyte level is.
    Many of us have replaced the R/R with an SH775 series unit.
    97 R1100R
    Previous
    80 GS850G, 79 Z400B, 85 R100RT, 80 Z650D, 76 CB200

Comment

Originally posted by Brendan W View Post
      The regulating part of your regulator/rectifier system is not working to keep the voltage controlled to about 14.4 Volts.
      Symptoms include blowing bulbs and if not fixed for a while, boiling of battery. Check what the electrolyte level is.
      Many of us have replaced the R/R with an SH775 series unit.
      Great! Sounds like a simple replacement. Is the SH775 preferable to a Suzuki OEM unit?

And I have an AGM battery in it. Is there anything I could check on that?

Comment

Yes. Do some searching on the site. Use advanced search, put in your keywords. Choose titles only to get any meaningful search results.