Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Are these the right Carbs for my 1979 gs550?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Are these the right Carbs for my 1979 gs550?

Hi all, I've just picked up a 1979 gs550 and it's running terribly so I thought I would strip the Carbs down. I'm new to the mechanics of bikes and was wondering if these Carbs are correct as they look different to a video I watched on cleaning the Carbs. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers Jonathon.

A picture would help lol, but if they're mikunis, more than likely yes. You're going to want to rebuild them and not clean, somebody will have the tutorial.
    Ian

1982 GS650GLZ
    1982 XS650

Comment

Yes sorry about that I can't seem to upload photos. I've checked out z1 enterprises and it does seem after looking at the kits for the 550 carbs and the 850 I have 850 Carbs on my bike. Is this ok? Or will I need to get ones for the 550?

Comment

They both run mikuni bs32 carbs, so no you're all good. They probably are the right carbs I dont know if an older model 550 runs the cv instead and you just have a redefined version.

They just need a good cleaning (rebuild) and will need to be synced.
        Ian

1982 GS650GLZ
        1982 XS650

Comment

Heres the rebuild tutorial, if you dont want to do it theres a user named GSsteve that will do them for you but they will still need to be synced to your bike.

Honestly though, if you can do the cleaning tutorial on youtube, you can remove the carbs from the fuel rails and lines aswell, just number the carbs and if somehow you find yourself trying to figure out which carb is which, 2 will have the vacuum line for the petcock, 3 will have both sides with an open hole for the fuel line, 1 will have the left side blocked off, and 4 will have the right side blocked off. You will know the fuel line hole when doing this.