Rear wheel off center, swing arm off center

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rear wheel off center, swing arm off center

Hi guys sorry to bother you, I have a question about the gs450 1983 model, my rear wheel seems to be right at the center of the swing arm, but off center from the frame on the left. I cannot find any answers on internet so would you be able to tell me if yours are right at the middle please ? (My chain line is also perfect) Thanks in advance
    Attached Files
    Suzuki gs450

I have no personal experience with this model. But looking at the fuzzy, low-res pic, it looks like your frame is tweaked/bent left to right from bottom to top as you look at it from the rear.
    Rich
    1982 GS 750TZ
    2015 Triumph Tiger 1200

BikeCliff's / Charging System Sorted / Posting Pics
    Destroy-Rebuild 750T/ Destroy-Rebuild part deux

Comment

Sorry for the quality, I’ll try to upload a better one.
      I’ve checked my frame with a laser and it is straight.
      Suzuki gs450

Comment

Originally posted by Subform View Post
        Sorry for the quality, I’ll try to upload a better one.
        I’ve checked my frame with a laser and it is straight.

I'm inclined to think you have your axle spacers swapped, the longer one goes on the left (chain) side. It might look like the chain is running straight but without the cover off the front sprocket looks could be deceiving. When we consider all the things that might cause a misalignment use Occam's razor first: Given an equal set of outcomes, the simplest answer is best.
        1980 Yamaha XS1100G (Current bike)
        1982 GS450txz (former bike)
        LONG list of previous bikes not listed here.

These aren't my words, I just arrange them

Comment

Don't be sorry to bother us. But we're going to need better picture(s). Use several posts if you want because this site only allows one picture per post.

Comment

Originally posted by Gorminrider View Post