Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 106

Thread: Reasons my bike would go to twin mode

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Mifflinburg, PA / Land of Tar & Chip
    Posts
    2,828

    Default

    You know, you guys can keep these communications between yourselves with phone/text. Every time I see there’s a new post to this thread you get my hopes up that Ian’s bike is cured.

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    spring hill florida
    Posts
    1,298

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rich82GS750TZ View Post
    You know, you guys can keep these communications between yourselves with phone/text. Every time I see there’s a new post to this thread you get my hopes up that Ian’s bike is cured.
    Lmfao sorry if my schedule wasnt so flip flop you wouldve heard the news already
    Ian

    1982 GS650GLZ

    Want a "twin" for my bike

  3. #63
    earlfor's Avatar
    earlfor is offline Forum LongTimer Charter Member
    GSResource Superstar
    Past Site Supporter
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Brooksville Fl.
    Posts
    42,894

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rich82GS750TZ View Post
    You know, you guys can keep these communications between yourselves with phone/text. Every time I see there’s a new post to this thread you get my hopes up that Ian’s bike is cured.
    I keep doing it because I figure Ian is more likely to check GSR posts than his text msgs. LOL However, tonight, just now, I spoke to him, got the info packed into his ear and he should be in the workshop assembling toys soon. lol Told him to call me if he runs into any snags. He will fill everyone in when he's got'er fixed.
    I support entropy for all.

    Nearly all Covid deaths in the U S are unvaccinated people.

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    spring hill florida
    Posts
    1,298

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by earlfor View Post
    I keep doing it because I figure Ian is more likely to check GSR posts than his text msgs. LOL However, tonight, just now, I spoke to him, got the info packed into his ear and he should be in the workshop assembling toys soon. lol Told him to call me if he runs into any snags. He will fill everyone in when he's got'er fixed.
    Definently will be, thanks earl!
    Ian

    1982 GS650GLZ

    Want a "twin" for my bike

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    spring hill florida
    Posts
    1,298

    Default

    One more question just to make sure when I put my charging system back on i dont mess anything else up, if the regulator is connected to the ignition switch, could that be causing a short? Are there any indicators that it would be that wire without testing? I'm gonna go ahead and check the resistance on it to see if I can get an answer if the wire is bad.

    The grounds have been moved to an ensured spot and from what Rick's motorsport said. I should be fine with the stator aslong as it passes the resistance test, and the output test was also successful. Just trying to eliminate problems. Went ahead and checked stator resistance just now to double check and it mainly shows .8ohms between the legs but I will see .7 flash on the screen sometimes but also on all 3 legs, is that okay since they can all get to the same resistance? Could it be bad connections on the leg wires?
    Ian

    1982 GS650GLZ

    Want a "twin" for my bike

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    spring hill florida
    Posts
    1,298

    Default

    Ignition wire is .01 ohms so it's atleast not the wire that runs to the ignition switches plug, for the ignition switch itself would I have to take the bottom cover off to check the resistance between the ignition wire plug and where the wire ends? Nkt sure what it's called lol but i think i know where I'd be checking. Is that a common thing? The inside was very clean and the plugs dont have any corrosion on them.
    Ian

    1982 GS650GLZ

    Want a "twin" for my bike

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    spring hill florida
    Posts
    1,298

    Default

    Went ahead and checked the negative battery ground resistance and that was fine, still need to check the ignition switch wire in the barrel if that's a common issue, more than likely will check before the days over. Gonna call Rick's and ask about that stator resistance flicking just to make sure it's fine, probably is aslong as they ready the same number lol. Everything should be in place and will start up when I get the regulator and sort it all out. We will see if earl is correct very soon!
    Ian

    1982 GS650GLZ

    Want a "twin" for my bike

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan
    Posts
    64

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by timebombprod View Post
    Ignition wire is .01 ohms so it's atleast not the wire that runs to the ignition switches plug, for the ignition switch itself would I have to take the bottom cover off to check the resistance between the ignition wire plug and where the wire ends? Nkt sure what it's called lol but i think i know where I'd be checking. Is that a common thing? The inside was very clean and the plugs dont have any corrosion on them.
    Checking the resistance of a wire from end to end will do nothing when trying to determine if it's shorted to ground or another wire. To do that you have to check the resistance between the wire and ground (or another wire when looking for wire to wire shorts). When doing this you have to be mindful of circuits that have a path to ground or another wire and either disconnect/isolate that path or factor it in to your reading.

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    spring hill florida
    Posts
    1,298

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Killer2600 View Post
    Checking the resistance of a wire from end to end will do nothing when trying to determine if it's shorted to ground or another wire. To do that you have to check the resistance between the wire and ground (or another wire when looking for wire to wire shorts). When doing this you have to be mindful of circuits that have a path to ground or another wire and either disconnect/isolate that path or factor it in to your reading.
    Can I use a testlight by chance? Have one and not sure if it makes it easier or not
    Ian

    1982 GS650GLZ

    Want a "twin" for my bike

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan
    Posts
    64

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by timebombprod View Post
    Can I use a testlight by chance? Have one and not sure if it makes it easier or not
    You can. A test light connected to battery positive will light up whenever the probe touches something connected to ground. As with a multi-meter, you have to be mindful of circuits that have a path to ground by design to not be deceived.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •