Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ignition System problems - no spark on plugs

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting here after scrounging the internet for resources. Long story short, I bought a non-running 1981 GS1000G. Replaced a bunch of stuff and got it to run. In the process of repairs I decided my CDI needed replaced along with the coil packs. I bought a used CDI and everything seemed fine.

I finally got the charging system working again so I tried to jump my bike as the battery was very dead and my trickle charger has a lower limit of 8V. I got a couple fires out of it but then it stopped. I went and bought a new battery since I figured the old one needed replacing anyway. I put it in and hooked everything up but now the only thing it’ll do is crank the starter motor. No spark on the plugs. Also, it appears my new starter solenoid’s primary coil is no longer working. I think I might’ve fried my CDI and the solenoid but I have no clue.

I came for advice because I don’t know what to do about this ignition system. The CDI being bad is my biggest issue because I can’t spend $300-600 or more on a new CDI and buying another used one seems like I’m just paying for a ticking bomb. At this point if I bought a used one I feel like there’s a decent chance it goes bad at some point and I was really hoping to make this bike my long term motorcycle.

Thanks in advance. I really appreciate any help.

Originally posted by Quinton View Post
    Also, it appears my new starter solenoid’s primary coil is no longer working.
    What makes you say this? How are you getting to motor to crank if the starter solenoid is not working?

Comment