Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What is 'extra' port on carb body/float bowl flange? Matching hole in gasket not bowl

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What is 'extra' port on carb body/float bowl flange? Matching hole in gasket not bowl

So I'm re-assembling a set of BS34SS carbs off a recently-acquired 1981 GS1100E. It's my first time rebuilding this particular model of carbs, but have done similar work on cars and other bikes over the years. There are several useful photoguides and videos on this website and elsewhere that have guided me through the specifics pretty well so far. However during final re-assembly I went to go install the float bowls and noticed something odd. There is a hole/port on the carb body, located on the float bowl gasket flange ('behind' and slightly to the side of one of the float pivot pedestals). There is a corresponding hole in the gaskets to matches up with this hole, however, there is no corresponding hole in the float bowl itself, and if the float bowl is installed, you can see that the hole/port in question seems to be open to atmosphere. And based on how the gasket forms around it, I suspect it is meant to be sealed somehow, or connected to some port inside the float bowl? Looking at all the photo guides and such, none of the carbs in them have this hole, though the gaskets used all have the corresponding cutout in them (it just appears unused on the carbs featured in the rebuild guides). I have attached a picture showing the hole in the carb body (circled), with the gasket laid atop, and then with the float bowl mounted (showing that the bowl doesnt cover the hole or gasket completely and it is open to atmosphere).

Mystery carb port.jpg

So questions:
    1. What does this port do/where does it go?
    2. Is it a problem that the float bowls I have do not cover it? (Are these the wrong bowls for these carbs?)