Tips on installing Pingel please!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tips on installing Pingel please!

Got the Pingel 6211-CH single outlet & adapter coming for my 1980 GS1100E. Please let me know your experiences with installing it, as I'm a total noob.

1. Looks like I will need to enlarge the opening in the tank to fit Pingel in. Do I use Dremel tool or a file or other?

2. How do I clean out inside of the tank afterwards, just flush some fuel through it?

3. What to do with the vacuum hose, block it off at the top end or take it off & somehow block vacuum at the carbs?

Cheers and thank you!
    1980 GS1100E

I thought the purpose of the adapter was so that you didn't have to monkey with the tank opening?
    2@ \'78 GS1000

Comment

Agreed, I put a Pingle on my 1000E and the unit fit right up into the tank without alterations. The adapter plate makes sure of that plus it places the bolts in the proper position.

You will really have to train yourself to turn the valve off at least 1/4 mile from your destination.

As for the vacuum line, yes just get rid of it and put a rubber cap on the carb that the vacuum line goes to. You could also go the cheap way and just force an oversized bolt into the vacuum line just above the carb.
      Larry

'79 GS 1000E
      '93 Honda ST 1100 SOLD-- now residing in Arizona.
      '18 Triumph Tiger 800 (gone too soon)
      '19 Triumph Tiger 800 Christmas 2018 to me from me.
      '01 BMW R1100RL project purchased from a friend.

Comment

Originally posted by steve murdoch View Post
        I thought the purpose of the adapter was so that you didn't have to monkey with the tank opening?
        I was hoping so. Though watching youtube videos wasn't reaffirming, seems many tanks need that opening enlarged. Cheers!
        1980 GS1100E

Comment

Originally posted by alke46 View Post