No spark!! Need help.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No spark!! Need help.

Hey guys I’m new to this forum. Hope to get some help with my 1980 gs750e that I got off someone online that was in garbage condition, wiring harness was basically all gone and it wasn’t running. I first figured I would start by getting the wiring harness done and then see what was the issue with the no start issue. These are the things I’ve done so far.

I installed an M unit since buying a OEM harness was so expensive and used ones weren’t cheap either. I wired lights, tach, tail-lights. Now it was time to diagnose the no start issue. It cranks, but doesn’t have spark.

Checked Battery
    solenoid
    R/R
    Stator
    Spark plugs (tested at 4ohms)
    ignition Coils (tested at around 4.1ohms)

This bike has An electrical ignition which I’m not familiar with and might be missing parts? I’m pretty new to motorcycles so if I’m missing anything on the ignition side please let me know.

I’m assuming it could be my clutch safety switch, its wired to ground and the yellow cable running off the solenoid. Then the kickstand switch I don’t see any sensors in the kickstand, there’s also the neutral safety switch which is connected (dark blue wire) to my tach.

what could be my issue? What should I be check now? Could it be the wiring on my M unit? If I’m using the M unit with momentary switch should anything be on the kill input of the m unit? Please help!!image.jpg

Oh boy, where to start!?

Get the factory service manual from BikeCliffs Website. Link in Signature. You want the GS 750 16 valve one in the top section, middle column. There’s also a very good color wiring diagram in the right column. You need that.

Create a signature with your bike year and model(at least). It’s under Settings at the top right of any Page.

Sorry, I’m no help with the M Unit.

You can learn how to post better and more pictures to the forum in the Imgur thread linked in my signature.