Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New '82 GS650G - Winter Restoration

Hello all!

Portland OR, 6'5" tall rider here, this is my first time owning any kind of Suzuki, a 1982 GS650G that I got from a trade just yesterday. I'm the 3rd owner, and cosmetically, its a bit beat up. Mechanically, riding strong @21k miles and compression/fluids all came back well after checking, with the random spike in idle to 2k rpm from what I think a carb sync would clear up. Electronically, not doing so well with turn signals not working, and some other oddities that I made a separate post about in the Electrical-Forum here.

My main ride is a 2017 Triumph Thruxton, and I've got an '82 Honda CB750C that I'm also restoring for a friend. This Suzuki will mainly be ridden by my housemate who just passed her Team Oregon (Oregon's MSF) and got her Endorsement all settled. Figured I'd share my knowledge/tools, and teach some useful troubleshooting/maintenance along the way for this starter ride.

Thanks for havin' me, and stay safe out there!

256698196_413053543765223_4575450749905530459_n.jpg

Welcome.

Even though an experienced rider and wrencher, don’t overlook the top 10 Newbie mistakes thread linked in my signature. There’s some specific GS things you’ll find useful. Manuals and technical how-tos for lots of things can be found on BikeCliff’s Website, also in my signature.
    Rich
    1982 GS 750TZ
    2015 Triumph Tiger 1200

BikeCliff's / Charging System Sorted / Posting Pics
    Destroy-Rebuild 750T/ Destroy-Rebuild part deux

Comment

That's exactly what I was hoping to find! Thanks a ton. Now, to get that electrical system checked out!

Comment