Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

It pays to get the professionals involved sometimes.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

It pays to get the professionals involved sometimes.

I have some experience in rebuilding and freshening carbs.
    I am not a novice - I have succesfully done several sets...
    But this time around on my '83 GS850 -- I was beaten.
    Then STEVE came to me rescue... I sent my carbs off to him and he did MAGIC -
    A complete cleaning and rebuild (noticing my errors) and back to me as a "Plug & Play" set of carbs -
    Synched and ready to ride...so I was excited when the box arrived -
    A few days before I had told Steve "carte blanche" on the rebuild when he asked if he could spruce them up
    Knowing his reputation for tripping into the polishing wheel I was looking forward to seeing my shiney polished carbs -

Here they are in the box...

But then I turned them over and found a surprise ...

I expected shine and got Orange and Purple

Wrapped inside some packing rags were the REAL carb float bowls - shined and ready for installation.
    SO be careful when you tell STEVE to go crazy ...

Here are my notes from the valve inspection this past week ..
    I had to change one shim to get to these numbers...
    The bike runs like a top - and I am 75 miles into the JOY of riding a GS again...

Here is the first starter button push after I re-installed the carbs re-worked by STEVE

Currently in the Stable :
    2002 Honda Goldwing GL1800 Sunburst Pearl Orange
    1983 Suzuki GS850 GL Blue & Black

" I am never lost until I run out of fuel...until that moment I am EXPLORING."
    - Carl R. Munkwitz

Munk's Maxim: "There is no such thing as a cheap motorcycle"

- Carl R. Munkwitz

Comment

Yay you!

So (for the benefit of us learning from your errors)....whadja do wrong?

Comment

In MY opinion --
        1) -- I had ONE valve shim WAY OUTTA WACK causing a problem with the way it ran --