Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Motocrossx23's GS750 Cafe Build

Hey GS'ers,

I've finally compiled some of my progress as I rebuild my 1981 GS750L on my blog. I'd love any comments or suggestions as I move along in my frame up restoration of this bike. It's my first project bike so I am fully willing to take in as much information and advice as possible.

Well, I've always loved these vintage cruisers, and they scoot pretty well for what they are. The styling and reliability sold me, as did the price.

My plans for the bike are:

-Strip/disassemble the entire bike
    -Powdercoat frame and swingarm
    -Paint tank, front and rear fenders
    -Powdercoat wheels
    -Restore any parts that need it
    -Rebuild carbs
    -4 into 1 Vance and Hines exhaust
    -SS brake lines?
    -Redo gauges
    -Re-cover the seat if possible
    -Sodablast the motor, paint black

So, here's where I start...

The day I brought it home:

Starting to disassemble:

Exhaust comes off, broken header bolts suck though...ughh.

Not even close

Update: Time to get into some detail work. I decided to redo the badges on the bike...

Sprayed the down with a black enamel base coat, and then went ahead with a white enamel for the detail paint, let me tell you...hands of a surgeon for this lol. Ended up finishing both and sprayed a clear enamel over them. All in all, 3 hours of work total for a very nice finished product I think.

Last edited by Guest; 07-18-2011, 12:37 AM.

I really like what you did with the tank emblems. And I never noticed the "FORNT" thingy. It's on mine too

Looking good. Keep it up.

Comment

Got some goodies in the mail from eBay, OEM original airbox covers (for a steal too, $15 for both)

The gauges were old and in need of repair, so I decided it would be my next detail project to tackle.

The gauges:

Torn apart:

Broken fuel gauge, not anymore!

Black base coat:

Silver trim coat:

Comment

Gauges together:

Finished: